Wednesday, January 13, 2010

Clarifications on the disallowed goal and the misconduct

Texas Stars play-by-play announcer Josh Fisher indicates that the goal was a no-goal because of the man being in the crease, as we thought. The game misconduct to Kolarik, which was not announced in the building clearly, was due to verbal abuse of the official and slapping his stick against the glass in protest of the no-goal call. That's AHL Rule 40, which reads like this:
A player, goalkeeper, Coach or non-playing person shall not challenge or dispute the rulings of an official before, during or after a game. A player, goalkeeper, Coach or non-playing person shall not display unsportsmanlike conduct including, but not limited to, obscene, profane or abusive language or gestures, comments of a personal nature intended to degrade an official, or persist in disputing a ruling after being told to stop or after being penalized for such behavior.
And the punishment? Well, the rulebook indicates that generally a player receives a minor penalty first, then a misconduct, then a game misconduct for this type of behavior. I guess the refs would have none of it and just went straight to the misconduct. Yer outta here!

3 comments:

  1. Thanks for the clarification!
    Ross

    ReplyDelete
  2. Actually, it was a 10 minute misconduct penalty, not a game misconduct, at least based on the PA announcement. With less then 10 minutes left in the period, they send them to the lockeroom. - Rick

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks Rick. I fixed that for you.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for commenting. Remember to keep it civil. Using a name will help us identify replies and build a Texas Stars community.