2010-11 AHL Divisional Alignment Announced

As expected AHL Divisional Alignment was announced today. Only two major changes here. The Lowell Devils moved from the Atlantic Division to the East Division. Also, the new Oklahoma City Barons are part of the now 8-team West Division with Texas. Chances are we'll probably see a rules similar to 2009-2010 for qualification for the playoffs in the West. If the fifth place team in the 8-team division has a higher point total than the 4th place team in the North, then the 5th place team from the West would go to the playoffs instead of the 4th place team in the North. This happened this year when the Bridgeport Sound Tigers replaced the Norfolk Admirals in the East Division playoffs.

Here's the full release: TheAHL.com: 30-team lineup set for 2010-11