Stars Release Opening Day Roster

The Texas Stars have released their opening day roster as the AHL opens its historic 75th season this weekend. Texas plays first on Sunday at San Antonio.

What should we take from this roster? First of all, the Stars will be strong again in net. Matt Climie and Brent Krahn had a 1/1a situation going on at the beginning of last year and I think Bachman is good enough to hang in there and push Krahn to be the best keeper he can be.

On defense, the Stars have gotten decidely younger. We knew that they would. Severin Blindenbacher, Philip Larsen, Dan Spang, and Jordie Benn are the newcomers to this blue line corps. Brad Lukowich has taken 19-year old Philip Larsen under his wing and believes that Larsen is a "scholar of the game" who will learn quickly in the North American game.

At forward, Texas has more offensive firepower at their disposal. Players such as Ondrej Roman, Tomas Vincour (that's VIN-SORE), and Tristan King are expected to add a scoring punch to the Texas squad. Texas also returns a number of stalwarts including Morin, Rallo, Gagnon, Wathier and crowd favorite Luke Gazdic.

UPDATE: To clarify questions about Landon Wilson's absence on this list, Wilson did not report to camp and I do not expect he will play with the Stars this season.

Here is the release and full roster list:
The Texas Stars announced on Friday the Opening Day roster for the 2010-11 American Hockey League regular season.

The 25-man roster is composed of two goalies, eight defensemen and 15 forwards. Texas returns 15 players from the 2010 Western Conference Championship squad. The players range from ages 19 to 34 with an average age of 24.16. Eight players are 22-years old or younger, including two 19-year olds. The roster is made up of six different nationalities. The roster also features 17 NHL draft picks, including ten Dallas Stars draft picks.

Goalies (2) –
Brent Krahn
Richard Bachman

Defense (8) –
Maxime Fortunus
Brad Lukowich
Matt Stephenson
Trevor Ludwig
Severin Blindenbacher
Philip Larsen
Dan Spang
Jordie Benn

Forwards (15) –
Aaron Gagnon
Greg Rallo
Travis Morin
Luke Gazdic
Scott McCulloch
Raymond Sawada
Colton Sceviour
Mathieu Tousignant
Francis Wathier
Sergei Korostin
Tristan King
Ondrej Roman
Tomas Vincour
Sean Backman
Cody Chupp


  1. No word on who wears the C huh? It should go to Wathier or Fortunus, in my opinion.


Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting. Remember to keep it civil. Using a name will help us identify replies and build a Texas Stars community.