Texas Stars Will Move to Pacific Division in 2015-16

Well, this is big news. In something of an unexpected turn, the Texas Stars are changing divisions and joining up with the new California teams to form the AHL's new Pacific Division. It wasn't unexpected that Texas would change divisions; that's happened many times before. It was unexpected that it would be with the West Coast teams.

San Antonio will also play in the division, which features all five California-based clubs and both Texas teams. The remainder of the old West Division is in the AHL's Central Division. Full detail below.

No information is available on the number of games played total, games against each opponent or the Calder Cup playoff format. You have to imagine that the playoff format will definitely change. This was unexpected as the league looked set to put all five Cali clubs in their own sequestered division.

Stock up on caffeine, Stars fans. 9:30 PM Central Time starts for a large number of this club's games are coming to an away schedule near you...

Here's the release:
American Hockey League President and CEO David Andrews announced that the league's Board of Governors, convening for its Spring Meeting today in Chicago, Ill., has approved its division alignment for the 2015-16 AHL season.

The Texas Stars will compete in the Pacific Division against the Bakersfield Condors, Ontario Reign, San Antonio Rampage, San Diego Gulls, San Jose Barracuda, and Stockton Heat. The seven-team Pacific Division is part of the Western Conference. Texas is the AHL affiliate of the NHL's Dallas Stars.

The AHL's full divisional alignment is as follows (NHL affiliate in parentheses):

Western Conference

Central Division
Charlotte Checkers (CAR)
Chicago Wolves (STL)
Grand Rapids Griffins (DET)
Iowa Wild (MIN)
Lake Erie Monsters (CBJ)
Manitoba Moose (WPG)
Milwaukee Admirals (NSH)
Rockford IceHogs (CHI)

Pacific Division
Bakersfield Condors (EDM)
Ontario Reign (LA)
San Antonio Rampage (COL)
San Diego Gulls (ANA)
San Jose Barracuda (SJ)
Stockton Heat (CGY)
Texas Stars (DAL)

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division
Bridgeport Sound Tigers (NYI)
Hartford Wolf Pack (NYR)
Hershey Bears (WSH)
Lehigh Valley Phantoms (PHI)
Portland Pirates (FLA)
Providence Bruins (BOS)
Springfield Falcons (ARI)
Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (PIT)

North Division
Albany Devils (NJ)
Binghamton Senators (OTT)
Rochester Americans (BUF)
St. John's IceCaps (MTL)
Syracuse Crunch (TB)
Toronto Marlies (TOR)
Utica Comets (VAN)

The format for the 2016 Calder Cup Playoffs will be finalized by the Board of Governors at its Annual Meeting in Hilton Head Island, S.C., July 6-9, and the complete playing schedule for the 2015-16 regular season, which begins Oct. 9, will be announced later this summer.


  1. If Vegas is getting an NHL team soon, you would expect them to have an AHL team nearby -- and it would fit right into the Pacific Division. This seems to make perfect sense as long as Arizona and Colorado have AHL teams in the East. - PBG

  2. Looking forward to seeing the new look teams at the CPC. Don't really watch the away games unless it is playoff time so the late starts for those don't bother me. Guess the San Antonio rivalry will get even more intense since we are the only ones left down in this part of the country!


Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting. Remember to keep it civil. Using a name will help us identify replies and build a Texas Stars community.