Dallas Stars Announce Signings and Qualifying Offers

Gemel Smith (Credit: Christina Shapiro/Texas Stars)
Yesterday brought a flurry of signings and other activity for the Dallas Stars. Let's break them down.

First, the Stars signed Esa Lindell, formerly of the Texas Stars, to a two-year deal. This puts Lindell firmly in the plans for the Dallas Stars going forward here. 

Next, Mark McNeill was re-signed on a one-year, two-way deal. McNeill is expected to be with the Texas Stars, where he finished the season after being traded from the Blackhawks in return for Johnny Oduya.

Finally, qualifying offers were announced (and therefore, players who weren't qualified were also revealed). 

The following players were qualified:
    • Radek Faksa - C
      • Patrik Nemeth - D
        • Jamie Oleksiak - D
          • Brett Ritchie - RW
            • Gemel Smith - C
              • Has a chance to fight for a spot with the Dallas Stars after first taste this season.
            • Matej Stransky - RW
              • Already signed in the KHL but this move retains his NHL rights for Dallas.
            The following players were not qualified and will become free agents on July 1:
                • Mattias Backman - D
                  • Was re-assigned to Hershey at the deadline and is likely to head to the Swedish League if he can't find an NHL deal that puts him in the NHL.
                • Nick Ebert - D
                  • Could come back on an AHL deal somewhere.
                • Justin Hache - D
                  • Acquired in the trade for Justin Peters and spent much of his time with the organization in Idaho. Signed in Denmark for 17-18.
                • Henri Kiviaho - G
                  • Injured and played one single game this year, already signed in Finland for 17-18.
                • Maxime Lagace – G
                  • Unclear what the next step is but it could be an AHL two-way type deal or an AHL training camp deal.
                Elsewhere, the following former Stars were not qualified by their clubs.
                • Alex Chiasson (Calgary)
                • Joe Morrow (Boston)
                • Jyrki Jokipakka (Ottawa)
                • Branden Troock (Arizona)