Texas Stars Announce Training Camp Roster, Schedule

(Credit: Texas Stars)
The Texas Stars announced their training camp roster and schedule this morning as camp opens on Wednesday this week. In addition to many of the NHL-assigned or AHL-contracted players, the Stars will also invite many players on ECHL contracts with the Idaho Steelheads, including Steelheads captain Jefferson Dahl and former Stars' PTO defenseman Aaron Harstad.

Here's the release (Note: release updated at 2:23 to include Gavin Bayreuther):
The Texas Stars, American Hockey League affiliate of the NHL’s Dallas Stars, announced Monday their initial training camp roster and schedule for the upcoming 2017-18 season, the ninth in Cedar Park for the team.

26 players will report to H-E-B Center at Cedar Park Tuesday for physicals. The team will hit the ice Wednesday morning for their first formal practice. All practice sessions are open to the media and a formal media day is set for Tuesday, Oct. 3.

The 13 forwards are Jefferson Dahl, Justin Dowling, Sheldon Dries, Max French, Austin Fyten, Samuel Laberge, Colin Markison, Mark McNeill, Travis Morin, Mitch Moroz, Greg Rallo, Tommy Thompson and Cole Ully.

The 10 defensemen are Gavin Bayreuther, Andrew Bodnarchuk, Ludwig Bystrom, Cody Corbett, Shane Hanna, Niklas Hansson, Aaron Harstad, Dillon Heatherington, Matt Mangene and Eric Sweetman.

Landon Bow, Philippe Desrosiers and Mike McKenna are the three goaltenders.

Bodnarchuk, Bystrom, Dowling, McKenna and McNeill were assigned from Dallas Stars training camp earlier today.

Texas will compete in a pair of preseason games against the San Antonio Rampage Friday, Sept. 29 at 7:30 p.m. and Saturday, Sept. 30 at 5 p.m. Friday’s game will be played at AT&T Center in San Antonio. Saturday’s contest will be at H-E-B Center.

Opening night for the 2017-18 campaign is Friday, Oct. 6 at 7:30 p.m. when Texas hosts the Chicago Wolves.


Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting. Remember to keep it civil. Using a name will help us identify replies and build a Texas Stars community.