Texas Pulls Off Double Billing with Stankoven, Bourque Both on First AHL All-Star Squad

(Credit: Ross Bonander/Texas Stars)

The Texas Stars pulled off the double win today with forwards Mavrik Bourque and Logan Stankoven both being named to the AHL First Team All-Star roster. 

Coincidentally, this was only the second year Texas has placed a player on the first team and that year, 2013-14, was also a two-fer. Travis Morin and Colton Sceviour were both selected to the first team.

Still more hardware could be in the offing for the pair of forwards as Rookie of the Year is yet to come with Stankoven as the odds-on favorite and MVP with Bourque in the same seat.

The full first and second All-Star teams were...

2023-24 AHL First All-Star Team

Goaltender – Hunter Shepard, Hershey Bears

Defenseman – Kyle Capobianco, Manitoba Moose
Defenseman – Brad Hunt, Colorado Eagles

Forward – Mavrik Bourque, Texas Stars
Forward – Adam Gaudette, Springfield Thunderbirds
Forward – Logan Stankoven, Texas Stars

2023-24 AHL Second All-Star Team

Goaltender – Joel Blomqvist, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins

Defenseman – Jake Christiansen, Cleveland Monsters
Defenseman – Brandt Clarke, Ontario Reign

Forward – Samuel Fagemo, Ontario Reign
Forward – Trey Fix-Wolansky, Cleveland Monsters
Forward – Rocco Grimaldi, Chicago Wolves

The Texas Stars media contingent ballot was as follows. As a reminder, we cannot select players from Texas, and we tend to bias toward players we have seen play in person. The award ballot asked for 3 goalies, 6 defensemen and 9 forwards.


  1. Joel Blomqvist (WBS)
  2. Matthew Villalta (TUC)
  3. Hunter Shepard (HER)


  1. Brad Hunt (COL)
  2. Kyle Capobianco (MB)
  3. Jake Christiansen (CLE)
  4. Brandt Clarke (ONT)
  5. Ethan Del Mastro (RFD)
  6. Cale Fleury (CV)


  1. Kole Lind (CV)
  2. Adam Gaudette (SPR)
  3. Trey Fix-Wolansky (CLE)
  4. Seth Griffith (BAK)
  5. TJ Tynan (ONT)
  6. Brett Seney (RFD)
  7. Joseph Blandisi (TOR)
  8. Linus Karlsson (ABB)
  9. Jonatan Berggren (GR)