Dallas Stars Qualify Six; Philippe Desrosiers Headed to Free Agency

Philippe Desrosiers (Credit: Texas Stars)
The Dallas Stars announced today that they have qualified six players who were restricted free agents at the end of the 2018-19 season. Four of these, Gavin Bayreuther, Landon Bow, Niklas Hansson and Dillon Heatherington, spent significant time with the Texas Stars this season. For more information on what a qualifying offer means, check out the 100 Degree Hockey Glossary.

Goalie Philippe Desrosiers was among the group not qualified. Desrosiers was set to be the odd man out next season for the Texas Stars with the emergence of Jake Oettinger at the end of the year and the expected return of Landon Bow. This move means that Bow and Oettinger will be your tandem in net for Texas with Colton Point and Tomas Sholl heading to Idaho. Desrosiers becomes an unrestricted free agent on July 1st.

Notably, former Texas Star Brett Ritchie was also not qualified.

Here's the release:
Dallas Stars General Manager Jim Nill announced today that the club has issued qualifying offers for the following players, this retaining their negotiating rights:

Gavin Bayreuther - D
Landon Bow - G
Jason Dickinson - C
Niklas Hansson - D
Dillon Heatherington - D
Julius Honka - D

The following players were not issued a qualifying offer and will become an unrestricted free agent on July 1:

Philippe Desrosiers - G
Ryan Hartman - RW
Chris Martenet - D
Brett Ritchie - RW